iases logo

Institute of Astronomy Space and Earth Science

iases logo

Institute of Astronomy Space and Earth Science


The institute is registered as a society under the West Bengal Societies Registration Act XXVI, 1961. (Registration No. S0026037 of 2021-2022)

The primary objectives of IASES are to conduct fundamental and applied research in the fields of Astronomy, Astrophysics, Cosmology, Space and Earth Sciences. Public Outreach Programmes and Academic Courses are also among the main activities of the Institute

Governing Body

President: Prof. Dhrubajyoti Chattopadhyay
(Vice Chancellor - Sister Nivedita University; Former Vice Chancellor - Amity University; Former Pro-Vice Chancellor - University of Calcutta)
Vice President: Prof. Tapan Misra
(Founder Director - SISIR Radar; Former Director - Space Application Center, ISRO, Ahmedabad)
Secretary: Mr. Sabyasachi Mukherjee
(Computer Professional and Instrumentation)
Treasurer: Dr. Amitava Moitra
(Assistant Professor - Department of Physics, Raidighi College)
Member: Prof. Debnarayan Jana
(Department of Physics, University of Calcutta)
Member: Mr. Deepanjan Kar
(Management and Business Consultant)
Member: Dr. Atish Dipankar Jana
(Principal - Sibani Mandal Mahavidyalaya)
Member: Mr. Tushar Kanti Ghara
(Joint D.P.I. (NGC) Department of Higher Education, Govt. of West Bengal)
Member: Dr. Pradipta Panchadhyayee
(Associate Professor - Department of Physics, Prabhat Kumar College, Contai)
& others.

Research Advisory Committee

Prof. Dipankar Banerjee (Chairman)
(ARIES, India)

Prof. Abhilash S.
(Cochin University of Science and Technology, India)

Prof. Dibyendu Chakrabarty
(Physical Research Laboratory, India)

Prof. Abhay Singh
(Benaras Hindu University, India)

Dr. Bhalamurugan Sivaraman
(Physical Research Laboratory, India)

Prof. Ranjeev Misra
(Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics, India)

Prof. Abhirup Datta
(Indian Institute of Technology, Indore, India)

Prof. Jayant Murthy
(IIA, India)

Prof. Narayan Banerjee
(IISER, Kolkata, India)

International Advisory Committee

Prof. Paola Caselli
(Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics, Germany)

Prof. Nigel Mason
(University of Kent, UK & President of the Europlanet Society)

Prof. Stelios M. Potirakis
(University of West Attica, Greece)

Prof. Hsiang-Kuang Chang
(National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan, Republic of China)

Dr. Takashi Shimonishi
(Niigata University, Japan)